Thursday, June 27, 2019

College recognizes Chargers student athletes in 20th annual awards ceremony

April 16, 2014 by Jason Schreurs, managing editor

Elyse Matthews and Lucas Dellabough came away as co-winners of the President’s Cup award for outstanding achievement in academics and athletics at the recent Camosun Chargers 20th annual athletics awards ceremony.

Matthews, a fourth-year wing on the college’s women’s basketball team, finished her studies in the environmental technology program this year with a perfect 9.0 GPA. She was also selected as a second-team all-star in the PACWEST provincial collegiate sports league. It was Matthews’ second consecutive President’s Cup award.

Meanwhile, Dellabough also earned a perfect 9.0 GPA in associate science while playing as a second-year rightside on the Chargers men’s volleyball team. Dellabough’s team finished with a bronze medal at this year’s provincial finals.


Camosun men’s volleyball player Lucas Dellabough was named this year’s co-winner of the prestigious President’s Cup award (photo by Kevin Light).

“I am thrilled by the achievements of our Charger student-athletes,” said Camosun athletic director Graham Mathews, Camosun Chargers in a press release. “This is the second year in a row that Elyse has won this award, we couldn’t be more proud of her and Lucas’ accomplishments as student-athlete leaders.”

Other student-athletes awarded at the April 10 ceremony at Victoria’s Harbour Towers hotel included Alex Sadowski, an Electrical Engineering student and men’s volleyball middle who received the Linda Henderson Award for Excellence, and Vitor Macedo, a Brazilian import and men’s volleyball setter who was named the recipient of the Derek Twomey Scholarship for Sport.

As well, a total of 10 athletes, including Matthews, Dellabough, and Sadowski, earned PACWEST provincial academic excellence awards.

The other PACWEST award recipients were women’s basketball players Brianne Larson (Arts and Science), Mellisa Van Dyk (Business Administration), and Ella Goldschmid (Exercise and Wellness); women’s volleyball players Kelsey Clarke (Associate Arts), Morgan Marshall (Sport Performance), and Erika Sheen (Human Resources Management); and men’s golf team member Jarred Callbeck (Business Administration).

Facebook comments; non-Facebook comments below

Comments are closed.